Pokémon GO Book Tag

pokemon-go-book-tag

Listen – I have loved Pokémon for as long as I can remember. I mean it. I’ve played the games, watched the anime, had guides and books and board games and pokéballs and socks. The first person I ever fancied – a boy that was in my class – I fancied for literally around five years, and then I stopped fancying because after I mentioned Pikachu one day he said “Pokémon isn’t cool anymore.”

Naturally, I’m ecstatic about Pokémon GO. Being a Pokémon trainer is my dream, and if this is as close as I’m going to get then I’ll take it. I got the game a little after everyone else because I had an old phone, but I worked hard to catch up to all of my friends because I wanna be the very best.

Anyway, when I saw Read At Midnight had created a Pokémon GO book tag, I knew I had to do it. Combining two things I love is a sure fire way to get me to join in. Let’s do this.

Pokemon-Tag-01Starters

For the record, I always pick the fire starter.

I’ve loved reading since I was a tiny thing, like most book bloggers. I remember my mum sitting in our shared bedroom (us meaning my two sisters and I – we had a small house) and reading The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis to us. The first books I remember reading independently that really set me on this path were The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett and The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton. As I got a bit older I discovered things like Harry Potter and A Series of Unfortunate Events (which I am currently reading to my girlfriend who never experienced the tragic lives of the Baudelaire Orphans in all of their… well, misfortune). These books really, truly, are what made me fall in love with reading. I can still find echoes of Lemony Snicket in my own writing.

Pokemon-Tag02Pikachu

Pikachu was one of the first Pokémon I caught when I started playing GO, and now whenever I complain about not having seen a Pokémon (WHAT I’D DO FOR A VULPIX OR A MANKEY) my girlfriend likes to point this out. Apparently, I’m not allowed to complain.

Harry Potter is an easy answer for this one, but considering I’ve already mentioned that once I’ll pick a classic classic. I’m studying English at uni, so I’ve read my fair share of them. My first thought was Waiting For Godot by Samuel Beckett, which I hated whilst reading it but absolutely fell in love with once I began to analyse it, but that’s a play so I won’t count it. My favourite module so far on my degree has been 19th Century American Literature, and I loved pretty much everything I studied on that – especially Edgar Allan Poe. I love the Dupin stories so I think The Purloined Letter” could definitely go here… this is tough.

I think I’m actually going to have to disregard American Literature (although The Last of the Mohicans and Moby Dick are both interesting reads and tremendous fun to study), and say Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I do love the book itself, but more than anything I love the inspiration I find in Mary Shelley herself.

Pokemon-Tag-03-Zubat

Zoobs, you plague me in every cave I visit on my Nintendo and lurk around every corner I walk in my real life. When will I be free of this curse?

I try not to be a dick when it comes to any kind of media anymore, because hating things just because they’re popular is something 13-year-old me would do and I like to think I’ve grown as a person. However, I have a truckload of problems with the C*ptive Pr*nce series, and I really wish people would at least stop pretending that the text isn’t enormously problematic.

Pokemon-Tag-04-Ditto

I can’t wait for Ditto to appear in the game. The episode of the anime where the Ditto can’t change its face is too cute – I love seeing the various Pokémon with his cute little smile!

I’m struggling to think of a book I love that reminds me of other books, but Say Her Name by Juno Dawson has a lot of horror tropes that remind me of various TV shows and movies – you know, things like The Ring? Still, I absolutely love this book, it’s probably my favourite of all of Juno’s novels, and I think it would make an amazing TV miniseries.

Pokemon-Tag-05-Snorlax

Oh my God, I have seen one Snorlax and he ran away from me. It was devastating. I want this big soft bundle of sleepy cuddles. Come home, Snorlax.

Anyway, I’ve been meaning to look into the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson for ages, but I just haven’t gotten around to it. I really will… but I’m really trying to cut down on the amount of books I buy before I read at least some of my TBR pile.

Pokemon-Tag06-Gengar

Squidge. I love Ghost Pokémon.

Both Only Ever Yours and Asking For It by Louise O’Neill kept me up all night because I couldn’t put either of them down. They’re both incredibly powerful, important, harrowing reads, and I would definitely recommend them  (though Asking For It is extremely triggering for rape and so I would always trigger warn any one I recommended that to).

Pokemon-Tag07-NidokingQueen

I’m glad Read By Midnight clarified that this was not expected to be a heteronormative answer.

Me being me, it’s very rare that a ship I actually care about becomes canon, so prepare to disagree with me! I think, honestly, my longest standing book ship is Remus/Sirius from Harry Potter, which I will ship until my dying breath (no, I don’t hate Tonks, I love Tonks, that doesn’t mean I’ll stop shipping Remus/Sirius).

Pokemon-Tag08-Rapidash

I love Rapidash. I had no problem collecting Ponytas until I was one away from being able to evolve a Rapidash, and I haven’t see one since.

I’m not sure if everyone would agree, but to me The Foxhole Court by Nora Sagavic (which immediately became my favourite series of all time after I read it) fits this. It’s a fantastic book that honestly I can talk about for hours. I can’t do it justice, and I urge everyone to read it (the first book is free on kindle!) but PLEASE look up a list of triggers before you do! It’s phenomenal and everything is addressed properly and well, but it can be incredibly triggering. Some triggers include: physical/emotional/sexual abuse, including rape, drugs, self harm, alcohol, torture… but it is amazing and LGBTQIA+ and so beautifully written. And I hate sports and yet I have never been more excited at a game than reading those Exy matches.

Pokemon-Tag09-Eevee

I love Eevees. I love every Eeveelution. I will never get tired of them. I can’t wait for the other Eeveelutions to make it into Go and you bet your ass I am going to make sure I have every one (I do that with every single Nintendo playthrough anyway).

I’m actually kind of… blah, about spin offs. I don’t mind when it’s new characters in the same world, but I get a bit tired of processing all the emotions that come with letting characters go and saying goodbye or continuing to develop my own detailed ideas of what happens next and then suddenly having those characters taken back and experience things that make them completely different people. Like, listen, I understand authors can do what they want and it’s not my place to tell them to stop, but I don’t tend to care about spin offs for this reason.

That said, I’m excited to finally take a look at the new Lemony Snicket series because since reading ASOUE again I’ve remembered how deeply I love this world, and I can’t wait to dive back into its secrets.

Pokemon-Tag14-Magikarp

MAN you know when people get salty when they hatch a Magikarp? WHY? You need 400 candies to evolve a Gyarados and you get more candies when you hatch them! If I hatched nothing but Magikarps until I had a Gyarados I’d still be happy.

Although I haven’t finished the series yet (I have the last book but I haven’t started it yet), I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Did I Mention I Love You? By Estelle Maskame. I don’t usually care about books concerning Heterosexual Romance, but I did really, really enjoy it.

Pokemon-Tag12-Legendary

If you think I’ll give up playing GO before I have a Legendary, you are wrong. So very, very wrong.

Anyway, for some reason I still haven’t picked up The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I’m excited to finally pick it up and maybe even more excited to read The Ketterdam Duology afterwards. I might even end up reading Six of Crows first…

Pokemon-Tag15Mew-MewTwo

I can’t even find a Mankey. It’s going to take me god knows how long to find a Mew/Mewtwo.

Anyway, without beating around the bush, I’m poor. I’ve never really fussed much over collector’s edition because they’re expensive and I don’t like to long for something I have no chance of owning. That said, the Discworld Collector’s Library copy of Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman is beautiful… but my copy of Good Omens (I went to abbreviate it and then released it’s GO) is signed by Neil with a personalised message so… I’ll keep my tatty paperback, thank you!

Pokemon-Tag10-Egg

Everyone seems to be hatching Vulpixes and Vulpix is my favourite Pokémon and yet here I am, hatching Drowzees.

I’ve heard a lot about Caraval by Stephanie Garber and it sounds right up my street. Despite my extreme phobia of clowns (and yes, I mean phobia, not fear), anything vaguely circus-themed is sure to appeal to me. I’ll definitely be checking it out.

Pokemon-Tag11-Lure-Module

Lures haven’t really been attracting anything interesting near me lately, but still, there’s nothing more pleasant than heading out to a pokestop in a nice secluded area and having a picnic taking turns setting lures.

Maureen Johnson is probably this author for me, closely tied with Juno Dawson. Their books are like pick-me-ups to me, and I always feel a bit better after one. I actually discovered Juno because she was doing a joint tour with Maureen and I’ve loved her since!

Pokemon-Tag13-Server-Down

I haven’t actually seen this screen since I started playing, even though I constantly see the spinning pokeball as it attempts to connect to the server.

I have a really bad memory and even when I’m excited about something, if I wait too long I tend to forget about it and miss its release. I haven’t been waiting forever, but September can’t come fast enough if it’s going to bring me The Graces by Laura Eve.

This was a really fun tag! It took me a lot longer than I thought it would to complete, but it’s definitely made me think about joining in with more tags in the future.

Also, VALOR.

-K

TWITTER // INSTAGRAM // BLOGLOVIN’

Leave a Reply

